‘I’m Not There’

A music ‘bio’ with a difference – six actors play different stages/ incarnations in the philosophical and musical ruminations of a (never named) Bob Dylan.

Six interwoven, non-chronological narratives – from the 1930s-set hobo child (Marcus Carl Franklin) worshipping Woody Guthrie through to the born-again Christian, Jack (Christian Bale), I’m Not There sees the singer refuse to be classified – Me, uhm, I can change during the course of a day. I wake and I’m one person, when I go to sleep I know for certain I’m somebody else.

Inevitably, with its diverse characteristion and storylines some work better than others: the young hobo and Dylan’s showboating period as he transitioned from folk to electric (Cate Blanchett) are the standouts in director Todd Haynes’ innovative approach. Intense, thrilling, moving, occasionally funny, dull, annoyingly obscure – I’m Not There perfectly reflects the man himself!

Nominated for best supporting actress (Blanchett) Oscar in 2008.

Rating: 64%

Director: Todd Haynes (Far From Heaven, Carol)

Writer:Todd Haynes (Far From Heaven, Velvet Goldmine), Oren Moverman (The Messenger, Love & Mercy)

Main cast: Christian Bale (The Dark Knight, The Fighter), Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine, The Aviator), Heath Ledger (The Dark Knight, Brokeback Mountain)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.